Hit the Dusty Trail Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 26 Jan 2020 16:28:51 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Mon, Mar 21, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-21-2011.html <p>Managed to get to spin class and do about 19 miles on the spin bike before my run.&nbsp; </p> <p>Well, I did no running over the weekend. Spent my time instead getting stuff ready for the Buffalo Run this Saturday. Things are starting to come together. Should be a good time with over 700 runners on the island. I might get one run in tomorrow, but then no running until Friday evening when I pace a friend running the 100 mile event. </p> Mon, 21 Mar 2011 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 17, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-17-2011.html Thu, 17 Mar 2011 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 16, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-16-2011.html Little bit of speed work at the gym.&nbsp; 4 x .5.&nbsp; Also swam 1.2 miles at lunch.&nbsp; Most I've done in about 30 plus years.&nbsp; 43 minutes for the time. Wed, 16 Mar 2011 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 15, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-15-2011.html Some lovely dirrt running after work.&nbsp; Nice enough to wear short sleeves. Tue, 15 Mar 2011 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 14, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-14-2011.html Only managed 1 mile.&nbsp; The achilles was hurting a little too much after Sunday's run.&nbsp; Did manage about 20 miles in spin class though.&nbsp; So not a total loss. Mon, 14 Mar 2011 06:00:00 Sun, Mar 13, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-13-2011.html Ran up to the radar towers at the top of Francis Peak today with a friend.&nbsp; 5000' gain.&nbsp; 15' snowbanks in places.&nbsp; Gorgeous day for the run. Sun, 13 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Sat, Mar 12, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-12-2011.html <p>Ran the 10 mile today.&nbsp; Wasn't sure I wanted to race it or just go for a hard run.&nbsp; I missed the 10K so I'm not in contention for any age group awards this year.&nbsp; With that the motivation to go harder isn't as high.</p> <p>Still, this year's race time was 12 seconds faster than last year and 2 minutes faster than 2008.&nbsp; So&nbsp; I guess I should be happy with my time.&nbsp; </p> <p>I don't have any mile splits, but I know I did do a few sub 7's (downhill), and on that one hill I had to finally walk a few feet.&nbsp; </p> Sat, 12 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Fri, Mar 11, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-11-2011.html 5 at the gym in the morning.&nbsp; Fri, 11 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Thu, Mar 10, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-10-2011.html Another trail run after work with Aric.&nbsp; Good times.&nbsp; Little windy. Thu, 10 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Wed, Mar 09, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-09-2011.html Finally hit the trail after work.&nbsp; Went north of Rainbow to the Polk trail and back.&nbsp; Trail was in excellent shape, just a few small areas of snow or mud on the north facing parts. Wed, 09 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Tue, Mar 08, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-08-2011.html More around the track.&nbsp; Need to get outside. Tue, 08 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Mon, Mar 07, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-07-2011.html Did 20 in spin class and followed that with another 5 around the track. Mon, 07 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Sat, Mar 05, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-05-2011.html Last training run for the Buffalo Run.&nbsp; Had over 50 show up today.&nbsp; Perfect weather, 40's, 50's.&nbsp; Trails were in great shape. Sat, 05 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Fri, Mar 04, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-04-2011.html Ran early at the gym.&nbsp; Did the last 1.5 barefoot just for something different.&nbsp; You can definitely tell that barefoot works your calves different and put a little more stretch on the achillies. Fri, 04 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Thu, Mar 03, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-03-2011.html Stopped at 2 miles.&nbsp; Just wasn't feeling it.&nbsp; Been fighting a cold all week.&nbsp; OTOH, I did go swimming at lunch and managed 1 mile in 35 minutes.&nbsp; I was happy with that. Thu, 03 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Wed, Mar 02, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-02-2011.html Wed, 02 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Tue, Mar 01, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-01-2011.html Did a few intervals at the gym today. Tue, 01 Mar 2011 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 28, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-28-2011.html Did 22 miles on the spin bike during class this morning.&nbsp; Followed that up with a 5 mile run around the track.&nbsp; Felt good. Mon, 28 Feb 2011 07:00:00 Sun, Feb 27, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-27-2011.html <p>Pushed a little bit while on the mill.&nbsp; Didn't feel like going outside.</p> Sun, 27 Feb 2011 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 24, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-24-2011.html <p>Easy run this morning at the gym. Ran the last mile barefoot. Definitely a different feeling. You can tell different muscles are worked. </p> <p>Hit the pool at lunch.&nbsp; 1250 yards</p> Thu, 24 Feb 2011 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 23, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-23-2011.html Did a tempo run after work at the gym. Also put in about 8 miles on the stationary bike at lunch. Wed, 23 Feb 2011 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 21, 2011 http://ultrajim.fastrunningblog.com/blog-02-21-2011.html Jumped right back into the training.&nbsp; Spin class (18 miles), followed by 5 miles around the track.&nbsp; Going to the pool at noon.&nbsp; The run actually felt pretty good.&nbsp; Very little soreness or tiredness, until I went down the stairs to the locker room, then I felt it.&nbsp; Still, actually ran pretty quick. Mon, 21 Feb 2011 07:00:00